Last week I was walking through our Convention Centre building, where we have church. I walk under this banner many many times throughout the week but it wasn’t until now that this quote stopped me in my tracks and arrested my attention. Ever have your attention arrested like that, to see something you’ve passed by many times?

People notice peacemakers because they dress funny. We know how the people who make war dress – in uniforms and medals, or in computers and clipboards, or in absolutness, severity, greed and cynicism. But the peacemake is dressed in righteousness, justice, and faithfulness – dressed for the work that is to be done.

– Walter Brueggemann

I stood alone in the corridors of our church and read it over and over again. Am I dressed for the work that is to be done? The work of bringing peace in an unpeaceful world.  Ever see a leader show up to serve in your children’s ministry and they’re wearing an expensive looking dress and teetering in high heels? Certainly not dressed for the work that is to be done. The work of a peacemaker requires a certain dress too.

